

All Assam Women Writers Association

Significant events

Arrangement to educate a number of senior women by establishing education centers in the year 1975, the International year of women.

On the same year, 1975 renowned actresses of Joymoti and Indramaloti films viz. Raseswari Khataniar, Subarna Saikia, Dineswari Roy Bhuyan, Upa Kataki, Prafullabala Baruah, Rebati Kataki, Jyanada kakoti and Bina Das Manna had been overtly felicitated.

Especially talented women of the state have been publicly felicitated by All Assam Women Writer Association.

On the 24th December, 1981 a bust statue of Padmashree Nalinibala Devi was unveiled at the Paltan bazar park of Guwahati. Sri Sitanath Brahma Choudhury, the then president of Assam Sahitya Sabha presided over the inauguration function. Sri Atul Hazarika unveiled the bust statue. Sri Jugal Das constructed the statue which was donated by Dr Prabir Bordoloi on behalf of family of Nalinibala Devi.

On 25th December, 1984 the permanent head office of the *samiti* was inaugurated at Tezpur by Sri Jugal Das.

Meanwhile Barpeta, Diphu, Doomdoma, Biswanath Chariali, Bokakhat, Jorhat, Golaghat, Dibrugarh, Koliabor, Dhemaji et.al have constructed the branches of the *Samiti*.

At the head office at Tezpur, a library has been established.

At the behest of Gohpur Lekhika Samaroh Samiti, a bust statue of Kolaguru Bishnuprasad Rabha has been established in front of a local library.

On 20th May, 1993 a bust statue of Kabya Bharati Dharmeswari Devi Baruani was established at the front space of the head office at Tezpur, which was unveiled by Dr Bhupen

Hazarika, the then president of Assam Sahitya Sabha and was donated by All Assam Women Writers Association.

Similarly on 6th April, 1997 a bust statue of Padmashri Nalinibala Devi was established in front of the head office at Tezpur which was unveiled by Nabakanta Baruah and was donated by All Assam Women Writers Association.

The All Assam Women Writers Association has so far observed birth centenary of late Dharmeswari Devi Baruani, late Nalinibala Devi, late Kamalalaya Kakoti, late Himala Baruani, late Chandraprabha Saikiani etc. The 150th birth centenary of late Rasaraj Lakhminath Bezbaruah, late Jatindra Nath Duarah and 200th birth centenary of late Dr Miles Bronson followed thereafter.

On top of existing branches of the organization, there are branches at Arunachal, Meghalaya, Nagaland, Silchar, Delhi, Kolkata, Mumbai, Gurgaon etc.